Skip to NavSkip to Content

The University of Texas at Austin


Strengths - Congressional & Political

American Political History Collections

The Congressional and Political History Collections acquire, preserve, and make available for research archival materials for studies in congressional and state political history. The collections have a special focus on significant elected officials from Texas, including the Texas Congressional delegation, Texas governors, and House Speakers.

The Congressional History Collection contains papers relating to the careers of more than 50 former and present members of Congress, including House Speaker Sam Rayburn and House Speaker and Vice President John Nance Garner. Measuring more than 6,400 linear feet, the collection is one of the most extensive and significant in the United States.

The Political History Collection includes the papers of former Texas governors, from Sam Houston and James Stephen Hogg to Dolph Briscoe and Ann Richards. Many other local and state officials, state and federal employees, and media are also included. An important collection component is the Texas House Speakers Oral History Project, which includes interviews and information on 11 Speakers of the Texas House of Representatives.

The collection also includes the Ann Richards Oral History Project, a number of audio interviews with key members of Richards’ gubernatorial administration, as well as her campaign and political staffs.

The center's resources also have much light to shed on the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. A guide to these collections is available.

Congressional Members

*Mike Andrews 1983–1995
*Bill Archer 1971–2001
*Steve Bartlett 1983–1991
Lindley Garrison Beckworth 1939–1953
Peter Hansbrough Bell 1853–1857 Kenneth E. Bentsen, 1994-2002
Lloyd Bentsen, Jr. 1948–1955
Clay Stone Briggs 1919–1933
*Jack Brooks 1953–1995
Guy Morrison Bryan 1857–1859
John Bryant 1983–1997
James Paul Buchanan 1913–1937
Albert Sidney Burleson 1899–1913
Horace Chilton 1891–1892; 1895–1901
Richard Coke 1877–1895
Thomas Terry Connally 1917–1929
Charles Allen Culberson 1899–1923
Bob Eckhardt 1967–1981
James Winwright Flanagan 1870–1875
*Bob Gammage 1977–1979
John Nance Garner 1903–1933
Pete Geren 1989–1997
Dewitt Clinton Giddings 1872–1875; 1877–1879
*Henry B. Gonzalez 1961–1998; see also web feature-biography and video.
Andrew Jackson Hamilton 1859–1862
John Hemphill 1859–1861
James Pickney Henderson 1857–1858
Sam Houston 1846–1845; 1855–1859

Frank Neville Ikard 1951–1961
Lyndon B. Johnson, 1942-1968
David Spangler Kaufman 1846–1851
Paul Kilday 1939–1961
Joe M. Kilgore 1955–1965
Rudolph Kleberg 1896–1903
*Robert Krueger 1975–1979
Fritz G. Lanham 1919–1947
Samuel W. T. Lanham 1883–1893
John Benjamin Long 1891–1893
Maury Maverick, Sr. 1935–1939
Samuel Bell Maxey 1875–1887
William D. McFarlane 1933–1939
Atkins Jefferson McLemore 1915–1919
Roger Q. Mills 1873–1892
J.J. "Jake" Pickle 1963–1995
Sam Rayburn 1913–1961
John H. Reagan 1875–1887
Thomas Jefferson Rusk 1846–1857
Joseph Draper Sayers 1885–1899
Morris Sheppard 1902–1913
George Washington Smyth 1853–1855 Hatton W. Sumners, 1935-1938
James Webb Throckmorton 1875–1879
* James "Jim" Turner 1997–2005
Louis T. Wigfall 1839-1874
James Clifton Wilson 1917–1919
Harry M. Wurzbach 1921–1929; 1930–1931
Ralph W. Yarborough 1957–1971

*collection is temporarily closed or restricted

Texas Governors

Dolph Briscoe 1973–1979; see also web feature - biography and gallery.
Oscar B. Colquitt 1910–1915
James Ferguson 1915–1917
William P. Hobby 1917–1921
James Stephen Hogg 1891–1895
  Sam Houston 1860–1861
S.W.T. Lanham 1903–1907
Ann Richards 1991–1995
Allan Shivers 1949–1957
Ross Sterling 1931–1933