Skip to NavSkip to Content

The University of Texas at Austin


Permanent Exhibits

From Commemoration to Education

From Commemoration to Education:
Pompeo Coppini's Statue of Jefferson Davis

Now on Display at the Briscoe Center

Sid Richardson Hall, Unit 2
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas
Monday–Friday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m, Saturday, 9 a.m.-1 p.m (SEE EXCEPTIONS)

Commissioned in 1919 by university regent Major George W. Littlefield the statue was envisioned as part of a much larger allegorical memorial, the Littlefield Fountain, intended to honor Texans who died in the Civil War and World War I while also addressing the reconciliation of the northern and southern states between those wars. However, the memorial and its campus setting and cultural context changed significantly over the course of its development. No longer an object of commemoration, the statue was moved in 2015 and now forms part of a new exhibition that explores the statue's history, as well as its significance as both a work of art and evidence of the past.

Dolph Briscoe Texan Exhibit

Dolph Briscoe: Texan
Now on Display at the Briscoe–Garner Museum

Briscoe-Garner Museum
Uvalde, Texas
Tuesday - Saturday,   9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

The Briscoe–Garner Museum, a division of the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin, proudly presents the new permanent exhibit Dolph Briscoe: Texan. The exhibit is displayed on the refurbished second floor of the Briscoe–Garner Museum, which until now has never been open to the public. Dolph Briscoe: Texan is organized around key themes in the governor's life and career, and covers his time as a rancher and family man in Uvalde, his military service in World War II, his key accomplishments while serving as a state representative and later governor of Texas, and his wide-ranging philanthropic activities.

Sam Rayburn Museum

The Rayburn Museum

Bonham, Texas

The Sam Rayburn Museum, located in Bonham, Texas, was established by its namesake in 1957. Rayburn, who died in 1961, was the nation’s longest serving Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives. He became Speaker of the House in 1941, serving for all but two years until his death.